Latest News


On Wednesday evening June 26th the Premier MX team hosted the 67th running of the famous Patchquick Trophy at Phoenix Moto Parc, Kingsteignton inDevon which again was sponsored by Phoenix Tools. There was great interest for this year’s event and with the track in prime condition there was some excellent racing to be seen by well over a thousand spectators.

In the main event for the Patchquick Trophy there was no stopping the man on form in 2013 onboard the MBO Sport Yamaha Kristian Whatley who was to retain the Trophy after a fine performance. In the Opening race it was the St Blazey Mx Suzuki of John May who was to set the early pace with many riders going wide including Brad Anderson on the L P E Kawasaki who was totally last, but was soon on the pace. May was to hold the lead for the opening lap before Whatley and Shane Carless on the Oakleaf Kawasaki forced there way pass on lap 2 and these two had a battle for a couple of laps before Whatley took control and was in cruise mode and started to ease away, but with 2 laps remaining Whatley had a rear wheel puncture and Carless was starting to close, but Whatley held on to take the win with Frenchman Milko Potisek after a long tussle with the Phoenix Tools Honda of Luke Hawkins taking 3rd. In moto 2 this time it was Whatley from the off and with a clear track was soon to put some distance between himself and Carless who was now in 2nd after passing Jackson Evans. Anderson had a better start in this one and was pushing Evans on lap 2, but unfortunately for Anderson he went a bit wide on a right hander and got caught in a rope and took him off the track, he did return, but was later to retire. Carless was giving his all in this one and was desperate to close on Whatley, but this was short lived as Carless had picked up a front wheel puncture on lap 9 of the 14 lap race and he went down at the bottom of the deer park hill which was to let Whatley get away who was to go on to notch up win number 2 from Evans who took 2nd ahead of Potisek. In the last moto it was Evans who squeezed Whatley out at the first corner with the early lead and was to set a blistering pace from Whatley on the opening lap, but as they entered lap 2 Whatley dropped it on a lefthander, luckily he kept the bike running and only dropped one place to Carless who was now in 2nd. Evans had upped the pace at the front and Whatley could see this and soon found away pass Carless and set after Evans who he caught and passed 3 laps later to take the lead. Carless was to catch and pass Evans midrace, but he had no answer to Whatley in this one who took a comfortable win and with it retained the Patchquick Trophy.

In the Junior A class for the Vic Ashford Cup there was some really fast and exciting racing, but at the end of the day the Cup went to young 16 year old Todd Kellett on the Team Green Kawasaki but not without a fight. In the opening race it was Welshman Grant Bryant with the early lead from Tom Brown and Gradie Featherstone, but a terrible opening lap for one of the favourites Jay Thomas on the K J Services KTM who was down in 31st after a collision with another rider. Kellett was in 13th as they entered lap 2 picking them off one by one, Featherstone dropped the Oakleaf Kawasaki which dropped him well down the field, but all eyes were on Thomas who was blitzing the field and by the end of lap 3 was up in to 12th. Kellett had also passed a few and on lap 4 was to take the lead and from there was to go on to take the chequered flag from a brilliant effort from Thomas who took 2nd with Featherstone coming back to take a well earned 3rd. The second moto saw Kellett dominate from the minute he took the lead on the opening lap who was to show what a young up and coming talent he is and was to go on to take the win and the Vic Ashford Cup with Thomas again finishing in 2nd and Featherstone 3rd.

Words and Photo by Dave Rich


Patchquick Trophy Event

1st Kristian Whatley (450f MBO Sport Yamaha)                          30 + 30 + 30 = 90

2nd Milko Potisek (450f 2B Yamaha)                                              25 + 25 + 23 = 73

3rd Jackson Evans (450f Stolen Yamaha)                                      19 + 27 + 25 = 71

4th Luke Hawkins (450fPhoenix Tools Honda)                            23 + 23 + 21 = 67

5th Shane Carless (450f OakleafKawasaki)                                  27 + 10 + 27 = 64

6th Neville Bradshaw (250f Putoline Honda)                                21 + 19 + 19 = 59

7th Luke Mellows (450f TMC/Meredith Mx Suzuki)                    10 + 17 + 11 = 38

8th Gert Krestinov (450f Apico Ansa RacingKawasaki)              17 + 21 +   0 = 38

9th John May (450f St Blazey Mx Suzuki)                                     15 +   8 + 13 = 36

10th James Dodd (450f Twoninetwo/St Blazey Honda)              13 + 11 + 10 = 34

Vic Ashford Junior Cup

1st Todd Kellett (250 Team GreenKawasakiUK)         30 + 30 = 60

2nd Jay Thomas (250f K J Services KTM)                      27 + 27 = 54

3rd Gradie Featherstone (250f OakleafKawasaki)       25 + 25 = 50

4th Lewis Barfoot (250 Suzuki)                                         21 + 23 = 44

5th Craig Callow (350f KTM)                                            15 + 21 = 36

6th Jack Stevens (450fKawasaki)                                    19 + 17 = 36

Junior B

1st James Teenan (CRF450)                            30 + 30 = 60

2nd Dean Warren (125Kawasaki)                    23 + 27 = 50

3rd Jack Griffiths (250fKawasaki)                   15 + 23 = 38

4th Darren Brock (????)                                       17 + 21 = 38

5th Colby Walker (450fKawasaki)                  21 + 17 = 38

6th Aaron Jenkins (????)                                       8 + 25 = 33

MX Vice Editor || 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *