Latest News

Skuse flying high with the Phoenix

Last Sunday the Phoenix Tools Premier Motocross Championship moved up in to Wiltshire to Marshfield for round 6 in the series. There was a huge entry with many wildcards as many other meetings had been cancelled across the country due to the recent wet weather, but the Premier team were in no doubt about running the event as strong winds and a reasonably dry day was expected and this was to dry the track out to produce perfect conditions.

In the Expert Open Championship it was Jake Shipton on the RFX Emberson Yamaha who had set the fastest lap in qualifying, but unfortunately for Jake he was to damage his ankle on another lap and was unable to take part in the main races. In the opening race it was Championship leader Luke Hill with the best start from Luke Blanchard and Jamie Skuse on the Apico Suzuki, but by the end of the opening lap Skuse had taken the lead and was starting to get away. Blanchard was all over Hill for a couple of laps until he slipped off on lap 3 and up in to 3rd came Luke Mellows on the Meredith/TMC Suzuki with L P E Kawasaki wildcard entry Connor Wakeley all over him like a rash looking to find away pass which he did on lap 5 and it wasn’t long before he was up in to 2nd when Hill made a mistake on a canvered lefthander, but Wakeley wasn’t going to catch Skuse who took the win with Darren Shears on the PCMP Yamaha just holding off a late surge from the Phoenix Tools Honda of Jackson Evans to take 3rd. In the second moto again it was Hill with the best start from Jansen Day and Shears with Skuse tucked in 4th. Hill was to set off at pace and quickest to react was Shears, as he was to get the better of Day on the opening lap as not to let Hill get to far ahead. Skuse was to pass Day a lap later and now had his sights set on Shears and was soon up with him and these two soon caught Hill who seemed to be slowing (he had arm pump he told me later). Shears took the lead on lap 4 passing Hill over one of the big jumps, but Skuse however took a bit longer to get pass Hill, but once he did he was to gradually haul in the deficit and with just 2 laps remaining Skuse caught and passed Shears, and from there went on to take the win, Shears 2nd with Wakeley taking 3rd. In the last moto it was Hill from Shears and Joe Dark, but Shears was in a real hurry in this one and passed Hill on the opening lap and also in a hurry was Evans who was up in to 2nd. Skuse hadn’t had the best of starts in this one, but was soon in to his rhythm and was to move in to 3rd on lap 3. Evans momentarily took the lead, but back came Shears to regain the lead and these two were having a real tussle, but it got a bit to close on lap 5 when they touched and both went down and through came Skuse who from there made it a hat trick of wins to take the lead in the Championship, Evans took 2nd with Shears a close 3rd.

In the Over 35 Championship class again as usual there was some top class racing to be seen as it was to produce three different race winners. In the opening race it was the Hanson’s Garage Honda of Keith Hanson who led from the off, but he was pressured all the time from Mark Wilde on the S J Hodder Kawasaki and the Albion Kawasaki of Jon Lock who was to pass both Wilde and Hanson on lap 3 to take the lead. Wilde was to pass Hanson a lap later and was soon all over Lock, but it was soon to end as Wilde stalled his machine on a tight rutted lefthander. Lock was to take the win with Hanson 2nd and last years Over 35 Champion Martyn Tucker taking 3rd.  In race 2 it was Tucker this time with the holeshot from Jason Webb and Mark McGill with Lock there in 4th, but way back was both Hanson and Wilde. Lock was to pass both McGill and Webb on the opening lap and was all over Tucker looking for away pass, but Lock was soon to be catapulted over his handlebars after catching a bank which we thought had gifted the win to Tucker, but now up in to 2nd had come Hanson who was absolutely flying and was to be with Tucker in no time and Hanson was to pass Tucker who was suffering with arm pump on the last lap to take the win with Championship leader Jason Fraser on the Gibbs Performance KTM taking 3rd. In the last race it was Tucker who was at the front from the off with Wilde and Hanson giving chase. Tucker and Wilde were to pull away from Hanson in this one and were to have a real ding dong with Wilde taking the lead mid race for a couple of laps before Tucker was to come back strong and got pass Wilde again and from there took the win with Wilde 2nd and Hanson taking 3rd.

In the Over 40’s Championship class there were several wildcard entries and the day belonged to two of them as Simon Hart was to win the first two races with John Heath just denying him the hat trick by winning the last race. In the Over 50’s category Tom Lowe continued his winning ways by taking a hat trick of wins with Tim Hawkins taking a hat trick of 2nd’s and Steve Palmer a hat trick of 3rd’s.

In the Tyremarks Junior a class it was young 17 year old wildcard entry Jay Thomas who was to show what a young talent he is as he was to totally dominate all three races with a hat trick of wins. Championship leader Ryan Blee gave his all, but at the end of the day had to settle for 3rd overall, but still increased his Championship lead as he was the first registered rider home.            


Phoenix Tools Expert Open Championship

1st Jamie Skuse (450f Apico Suzuki) 2nd Darren Shears (450f PCMP Yamaha) 3rd Connor Wakeley (250f L P E Kawasaki) 4th Luke Mellows (450f TMC/Meredith Suzuki) 5th Jackson Evans (450f Phoenix Tools Honda) 6th Luke Hill (450f HPR/DirtbikeXpress Honda)

M D Racing Over 35’s Championship

1st Martyn Tucker (450f Suzuki) 2nd Keith Hanson (450f Hanson Garage Honda) 3rd Jason Fraser (250 Gibbs Performance KTM) 4th Mark Wilde (450f S J Hodder Kawasaki) 5th Jon Lock (450f Albion Kawasaki) 6th Tony Bayliss (250f Yamaha)

M D Racing Over 40’s Championship

1st Simon Hart (250 Kawasaki) 2nd John Heath (????) 3rd Wayne Gill (250f Suzuki) 4th Paul Ayres (450f Yamaha) 5th Alan Packer (250 Yamaha) 6th Richard Todd (450f Suzuki)

M D Racing Over 50’s Championship

1st Tom Lowe (250f Honda) 2nd Tim Hawkins (450f Honda) 3rd Steve Palmer (350fAlbion KTM)

Tyremarks Junior A

1st Jay Thomas (250 K J Services KTM) 2nd Jordan Broadway (250 Kawasaki) 3rd Ryan Blee (250f Gilletts Spar/Albion Kawasaki) 4th Luke Sturgeon (250f Honda) 5th Adam Savage (????) 6th Loukas Maggio (250f Phoenix Tools Honda)

Tyremarks Junior B

1st Morgan Edwards (????) 2nd Cameron Packer (250f Honda) 3rd Ryan Hooper (250 KTM) 4th Josh McGill (????) 5th Richard Grills (450f Yamaha) 6th Anthony Carrington (125 Yamaha)

Tyremarks Junior C

1st Dannielle Hipgrave (250 Danger UK KTM) 2nd Richard Tapscott (450f Honda) 3rd Dave Tilling (????) 4th Patrick Searle (????) 5th Scott Parker (250f KTM) 6th Lewis Hunt (250f Suzuki)

Report and picture by Dave Rich


MX Vice Editor || 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *