Latest News


Another Motocross GP influenced by rain and rough track conditions, this time at round 11 of the FIM Motocross World championship in Semigorje, Russia.   Having hosted a MX GP ten years ago, the Russian motocross fans turned out in their droves (45.000) to watch the best racers in the world do battle under demanding and tough conditions.

Gautier Paulin looked up for the challenge but battled to come to terms with the muddy qualification sessions after heavy rains turned the loamy circuit into a muddy lottery.  Having 8th gate pick Paulin had a reasonable jump in moto 1 but was shut out in the first turn.  He quickly pushed through to 6th but then lost a spot to home favourite Bobryshev and then settled for 7th.

Moto 2 would see a difficult start for Paulin as he rounded the first lap in 9thafter a bad start.  He made a good pass on Leok and Strijbos to move into 7thbut could not eat into the gap of Goncalves and Bobryshev in front.  Another 7th place was all that was on the cards for the likeable Frenchman.

Gautier Paulin: “It was a long trip but the journey went well and we found a nice track waiting for us. It was tough with the rain on Saturday and my qualification was not the best of the season but the grid was wide so it wasn’t a problem. At the first start I nearly collided with Xavier and then it was difficult to make up positions; in the second moto Desalle anticipated the start and that affected my concentration. I nearly crashed with Simpson in the second corner but I came back to seventh at the finish. Two times seventh is not what I expected at the start of the weekend, but I will work hard to get back on the podium at the next few rounds.”

Next up on the calendar is the Czech GP in Loket on the 4-5 August.

Race results:

MX1 Race 1: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:45.999; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:05.960; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:07.579; 4. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:09.938; 5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +0:30.092; 6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:35.017; 7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:37.056; 8. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:48.946; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), +0:50.714; 10. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Honda), +0:52.555;

MX1 Race 2: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:21.770; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:07.892; 3. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:25.744; 4. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:33.416; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:36.099; 6. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:40.135; 7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:52.103; 8. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Honda), +1:03.761; 9. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:15.308; 10. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), +1:18.144;

MX1 Overall: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 42 p.; 3. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 42 p.; 4. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 36 p.; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 31 p.; 6. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 28 p.; 7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 28 p.; 8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 25 p.; 9. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Honda), 24 p.; 10. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), 23 p.;

MX1 Championship: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 442 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 422 p.; 3. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 393 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 376 p.; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 341 p.; 6. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 304 p.; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 277 p.; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), 253 p.; 9. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 247 p.; 10. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 212 p.

MX Vice Editor || 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *