Latest News


The 10th round of the FIM MX world championship held in Kegums has seen Kawasaki Racing Team’s,  Gautier Paulin post a 4-6  result for 5th overall at a muddy  one-lined Latvian GP.

Having 5th gate pick for Sunday’s race would be crucial for a good start on the rain soaked circuit and for moto 1 Paulin was able to hug a tight line in the first turn to emerge in 3rd spot behind Rui Goncalves and Antonio Cairoli.   He gave chase to the two fast starters but then came under pressure from a charging Ken De Dycker who felt at home in the difficult conditions.   Paulin chose to let the Belgian pass and settled for the security of fourth position at the end of the 35 min + 2 lap race.

With more rainfall between the first and second moto’s another good start would be important and Paulin once again delivered.  When Cairoli fumbled on lap 3 Paulin inherited second place and looked set on holding his position however a series of small mistakes saw the Frenchman loose his rhythm and vital positions as he was relegated back to 5th with Goncalves making his way past with 2 laps to go.

“The track was perfect on Saturday but with the rain today it totally changed and was very difficult for me.   My starts were good in both moto’s and put me in a good position but the end result was not what I was expecting.   I felt that I should have won thesecond moto but some small mistakes made me lose my rhythm.  I gained some points on 3rd and 2nd in the championship but itshould have been much better and at least a podium finish today” explained a disappointed Paulin.

With the GP calendar returning to Russia after 10 years, Paulin will head to Semigorje next weekend for round 11 of the 16 round series.

Race results:

MX1 Race: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 40:10.291; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:14.660; 3. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:19.982; 4. GautierPaulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:25.045; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:29.425; 6. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), +0:30.185; 7. Clement Desalle (BEL,Suzuki), +0:48.051; 8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +0:49.206; 9. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:50.222; 10. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +0:50.592;

MX1 Race 2: 1. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 40:41.137; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:09.646; 3. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:14.187; 4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:21.801; 5. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:23.040;6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:34.385; 7. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), +0:40.746; 8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +0:51.920; 9. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:54.297; 10. Marc de Reuver (NED, Kawasaki), +1:20.375;

MX1 Overall: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 47 points; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 42 p.; 3. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 36 p.; 4. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 36 p.; 5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 33 p.; 6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 32 p.; 7. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), 29 p.; 8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), 26 p.; 9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 26 p.; 10. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 22 p.;

MX1 Championship: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 392 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 380 p.; 3. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 357 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 348 p.; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM),299 p.; 6. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), 279 p.; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 258 p.; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Suzuki), 230 p.; 9. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 219 p.; 10. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 212 p.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *