Latest News

MXGP awards winners in Latvia

KEGUMS (Latvia), 27 September 2014 – In the dusk of the night here at the 2014 Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations, the annual MXGP Awards ceremony took place. With spotlights illuminating the Skybox and podium area where the awards were presented by MXGP Hosts Paul Malin and Amy Dargan, the chilly night air was warmed with celebration as the 2014 FIM Motocross World ChampionsEuropean Motocross Champions and the award winning MXGP industry names were honored.

Following a warm introduction given by the charismatic Paul Malin and stunning Amy Dargan,Youthstream President Mr. Giuseppe LuongoFIM President Mr. Vito Ippolito and FIM Europe President Dr. Wolfgang Srb took to the podium to personally welcome around two hundred guests to the 2014 edition of the MXGP Awards.

On with the presentation of the awards, Mr. Luongo and Mr. Ippolito personally congratulated and handed the awards to the 2014 FIM Motocross World Champions and the award winning industry names, with the stand out industry prize winners being LosailMXGP of Qatar being awarded asMXGP’s Best OrganizerMaggioraMXGP of Italy as Best CooperationMatterley BasinMXGP of Great Britain as the Best TrackLommelMXGP of Belgium as the Best Media Center and Best Paddock and MXGP of Leon as the Best Promotion.

Dr. Wolfgang Srb was the next official welcomed to the stage to award the European Champions.Rockstar Energy Suzuki Europe’s young German Brian Hsu won the Jan de Groot award, which is an award honoring the most promising young talent of the season.

Meanwhile, as they do every year, Youthstream donated a cheque to Heinz Kinigadner and Pit Beireron behalf of the Wings for Life foundation, while Tag Heuer awarded both “Tag Heuer Best Lap award winners Jeffrey Herlings and Antonio Cairoli with an exquisite Tag Heuer watch. The eight time FIM Motocross World Champion Antonio Cairoli was also awarded with a special one of a kind painting personally painted by a highly acclaimed artist, Rob Kinsey.

Below you will be able to find a list of all the MXGP award winners:

MXGP Manufacturer World Champion: KTM

MX2 Manufacturer World Champion: KTM

WMX Manufacturer World Champion: Yamaha

MXGP Winning Team: Red Bull KTM Factory Racing

MX2 Winning Team: Red Bull KTM Factory Racing

WMX Winning Team: Yamaha MXFonta Racing

Mechanic of the Year: Joel De Busser, Gaetan Bertaut and Romain Coiffard – Wilvo Nestaan Husqvarna Factory Racing

Lifetime Career Award: Jeff Emig

Steve Bruhn Award Journalist of the year: Lorenzo Resta

Photographer of the year: Stanley Leroux – MXGP Album

“Jan De Groot” Award: Brian Hsu (GER)

Motocross MXGP Best Cooperation: Maggiora, MXGP of Italy

Motocross MXGP Best Race Track: Matterley Basin, MXGP of Great Britain

Motocross MXGP Best Media Centre: Lommel, MXGP of Belgium

Motocross MXGP Best Paddock: Lommel, MXGP of Belgium

Motocross MXGP Best Promotion: León, MXGP of León

Motocross MXGP Best Infrastructure: Trindade, MXGP of State of Goias

EMX65 European Champion: Nikita Kucherov (RUS)

EMX85 European Champion: Jago Geerts (BEL)

EMX125 European Champion: Brian Hsu (GER)

EMX150 Honda European Champion: Albie Wilkie (GBR)

EMX250 European Champion: Steven Clarke (GBR)

EMX300 European Champion: Samuele Bernardini (ITA)

65cc Junior World Champion: Jett Lawrence (AUS)

85cc Junior World Champion: Kim Savaste (FIN)

125cc Junior World Champion: Brian Hsu (GER)

Veterans’ World Cup Winner: Martin Zerava (CZE)

Women’s World Champion: Kiara Fontanesi

Motocross MXGP Best Organizer: Losail, MXGP of Qatar

MXGP Tag Heuer Best Lap: Antonio Cairoli

MX2 Tag Heuer Best Lap: Jeffrey Herlings

Motocross MXGP Best Organizer: Losail, MXGP of Qatar

MX2 World Champion: Jordi Tixier (FRA)

MXGP World Champion: Antonio Cairoli (ITA)

MX Vice Editor || 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *