Latest News

Lenoir wins the Battle, Nunn takes the Title at Blaxhall

The Third and Final round of the Gavin Hockey Motorcycles / G and B Finch Sponsored Wednesday Night Series took place at Blaxhall on the 18th July. Following weeks of wet weather leading up to the event the Woodbridge Club were fortunate to be blessed with a few dry days prior to the event.

With a strong line-up of top riders entered the racing was sure to be exciting at the front, however with a lower than normal entry the Club decided to remove two races from the programme in order to have more riders in each group. The evening started with a short shower as the riders got to grip with the deep sandy circuit.

Following the practice sessions it was time for the first heat of the night. The victory went to Carl Nunn ahead of Elliott Banks Browne who was having his first ride following his crash at Desertmartin. Third place went to Ben Talbott ahead of Chris Bastick and Nathan Braithwaite.

The second heat race of the night saw Luke Benstead take the victory over Aston Bird and Steve Bixby in third, fourth and fifth places went to David Frankland and Harry McKenna.

The third heat race of the night saw French star Steven Lenoir battle all race long with local rider James Cottrell and Joe Bamfield. The fourth and fifth places went to Luke Norris and Jason Morland.

The final heat of the day saw Lewis Tombs take the race victory ahead of Jordan Divall and Shaun Southgate. Fourth and fifth places went to Brad Tomlin and Sam Arbon .

Following on from the Heat races it was time for the first of the Semi Finals of the night. With the fastest riders from both of the opening heats competing for a place in the Grand Final. The early race battle between Carl Nunn and Elliott Banks Browne kept the crowd packing the fence line. As the race went on Carl Nunn took the win ahead of Steve Bixby and Harry McKenna. Fourth place went to Elliott Banks Browne and Aston Bird in fifth.

The Second Semi Final of the night would again see Steven Lenoir battling with James Cottrell for the win ahead of Lewis Tombs in third. The fourth and fifth places went to Luke Norris and Jordan Divall.

With the starting line- up decided for the Grand Final, it was time for the Consolation Final for the riders that narrowly missed out on the final. The Consolation final was won by Brendon Mayers, with Nathan Braithwaite in second and Paul Hubbard in third.

The final race of the evening was to be the 8 lap Grand Final. With Carl Nunn, Elliott Banks Browne, Steven Lenoir and James Cottrell all lining up together. As the gate dropped it was Elliott Banks Browne that took the early lead from Carl Nunn and Steven Lenoir. Lenoir quickly moved into second place and battled with Banks Browne for the majority of race. With two laps to go Lenoir found a way past Banks Browne to take the victory by over 7 seconds with Carl Nunn in third. James Cottrell and Lewis Tombs both battled hard to finish fourth and fifth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *