Cottrell takes top Honours

Sunday saw the Woodbridge DMCC run their first Motocross meeting of the season at the Blaxhall Circuit. The track was in prime condition on the Friday, prior to nearly 22 hours of rain on the Saturday left the track rather damp. With a bumper entry of nearly 160 riders include the like of Zach Osborne, Bradley Pocock, James Cottrell and Lewis Tombs all in the Expert Class racing was sure to be close.

In the first Expert race of the day Osborne quickly grabbed the lead and looked to steal a march on the rest of the field. With Osborne running clear at the front, the battle was for second place between Cottrell and Tombs with Cottrell getting the nod. Fourth place went to Steve Bixby with Alex Smith in fifth.

The second Expert race of the day saw Cottrell take the start and lead Osborne for the opening lap until Osborne made a move for the lead. The pair then battled for the lead for the remainder of the race until Osborne’s bike stopped on the final lap, handing Cottrell the win. Second place then went to Lewis Tombs ahead of Steve Bixby in third. Fourth and fifth went to Brad Pocock and Alex Smith.

With Osborne out of the last Expert race of the day, it was to be Cottrell and Tombs that battled for the win all race long. Cottrell took the race win over Tombs at the flag, with Bixby in third. Bradley Pocock and Chris Bayliss rounded out the top 5.

The meeting also included the second round of the NGR Over 30’s Championship. In the first race of the day for the NGR’s it was Matthew Eley who took the win ahead of Jake Morphey and Paul Hubbard in third. Fourth and fifth places went to Roger Frean and Lee Keyton.

The second NGR race of the day would see Luke Dowsing take the race win over Roger Frean and Paul Hubbard. The fourth and fifth place in this race went to Mark Lloyd and Chris Keeble. It was the final race of the day for the NGR’s that produced the best race of the lots with Dave Whitehead and Paul Hubbard battling all race. Third place went to Roger Frean with Mark Lloyd and Jake Morphey rounding out the top 5.

With two groups of juniors riders they were separated into the A and B Groups. In the A group it was Robert Hales that took the win in the opening race ahead of Lucas Harris and Ryan Matthew. The fourth and fifth places went to Thomas Pallett and Andy Holland.

The second A group race would see Ryan Matthew take the win over Thomas Pallett and Simon Daniels. Fourth and fifth places went to Harvey Mutten and James Holt. In the final A group race it was Thomas Pallett who took the win ahead of Ryan Matthew and Lucas Harris in third. Fourth and fifth went to Cameron Harris and James Holt.

The final group of the day was the Junior B’s and it was Marc Nickerson who took the first race win over Kyle Sharpe and Samuel Talbott. In the second race it was again Marc Nickerson who took the win over Will Nice and Aaron Smith. The final B group race of the day went to Chris Freeman ahead of Aaron Smith and Tony Rooke.


Expert Race 1

Zach Osborne, James Cottrell, Lewis Tombs, Steve Bixby, Alex Smith

Race 2

James Cottrell, Lewis Tombs, Steve Bixby, Brad Pocock, Alex Smith

Race 3

James Cottrell, Lewis Tombs, Steve Bixby, Brad Pocock, Chris Bayliss


Race 1

Matthew Eley, Jake Morphey, Paul Hubbard, Roger Frean, Lee Keyton

Race 2

Luke Dowsing, Roger Frean, Paul Hubbard, Mark Lloyd, Chris Keeble

Race 3

Dave Whitehead, Paul Hubbard, Roger Frean, Mark Lloyd, Jake Morphey

Junior A

Race 1

Robert Hales, Lucas Harris, Ryan Matthew, Thomas Pallett, Andy Holland

Race 2

Ryan Matthew, Thomas Pallett, Simon Daniels, Harvey Mutten, James Holt

Race 3

Thomas Pallett, Ryan Matthew, Lucas Harris, Cameron Harris, James Holt

Junior B

Race 1

Marc Nickerson, Kyle Sharpe, Samuel Talbott, Chris Freeman, Tony Rooke

Race 2

Marc Nickerson, Will Nice, Aaron Smith, Chris Freeman, Tony Rooke

Race 3

Chris Freeman, Aaron Smith, Tony Rooke, Graham Muff, Shaun Griffiths

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *