Latest News

The Irish championship returns to Desertmartin

The 2016 Irish Motocross Championship arrives back in Ulster again on Saturday 7th May at the Grand Prix circuit of Desertmartin as the Cookstown Club host round 3 of 7.

The Stephen Russell Motocross/CCM Racing/Apico International supported Championship is proving a hit with the riders after two rounds with close racing and good entries.

In the Premier MX1 Class, round 2 in Ferns County Wicklow produced a new Championship leader with Loughbrickland rider John Meara assuming the lead in his TMC/Watt Kawasaki 450 despite Wayne Garrett winning the overall on his GMP/Spratt Electrical/Watt KTM 350, these two were only 3 points apart in Ferns for the overall, and are separated by 1 point now.

Championship leader after round 1 Dubliner Stuart Edmonds was absent in Ferns, but only Meara & Garrett capatalised, as first round runner up Robert Hamilton had a poor day by his standards, the Portavogie Risk Racing/GOMX Yamaha 450 mounted Ulster Champion managed only fifth on the day, but Lisburn reigining Irish Champion Richard Bird managed to complete the podium in third on his Five5 Motorsport KTM 350, with Stephen Mullally from Dublin fifth on his KTM 450.

Expect this sextet to be joined by Ballygowan man Gary Gibson who is settling into his new S.Scott/Watt Kawasaki 450 well.

The Premier MX2 Class  was won in Ferns by Jason Meara on his Motul/Watt KTM with three from three to consolidate his lead in the Championship, while Jordan Keogh from Dublin finished second to leap up the table, but still not far enough to catch Dundonald teenager on the Risk Racing/GOMX Yamaha, James Mackrel who holds onto second from Ballymoney man Jordan McCaw on the HTM Off Road Husqvarna, missing from Ferns on BYMX duty was young Cork charger David Galvin, but he should be back on his KTM next week to add to the mix in this exciting class.

The Semi Expert MX1 is still led by by Ballyclare man Paul Atkinson, on the Ulster Shredders Husqvarna, after a one point win over Crossgar man Jonathan O’Neill on his Kawasaki 450 in Ferns, David Martin was third overall in Ferns on his KTM but he has not featured so far in the Championship, the biggest climber in this was Ashley Allerton who finished fourth overall, but expect Moira man Jordan Blakely on the JB Electrical KTM, and Kevin Donnelly on the two stroke Yamaha to be at the front at Desertmartin.

Semi Expert MX2 was won by young Conor Marshall in Ferns, but Jack Daly has assumed the lead in the Championship following hs runner up spot,  and with Southern Centre riders dominating in Ferns, and MRA riders absent, normal service may be resumed in Desertmartin with names like Karl Thompson, Cailum Meara and Aiden McDonagh appearing at the sharp end.

Clubman MX1 produced a treble from Greysteel rider Honda mounted Jordan Allingham, but Fintan Fallon maintains a slender lead over John Martin in the Championship coming to Desertmartin, with Stephen Maitland and Mark Lemon making tracks over absent Karl Scullion.

Clubman MX 2 saw a Championship lead change as Sean Laverty leapt to the front of the pack after his overall win in Ferns, with runner up, Johnny Presho leaping into the top 5 on his Honda, other riders making headway were Nathan Hamilton on his Yamaha, and Alan Saunders on the KTM.

Racing starts at Desertmartin at 11.00 and the circuit will be signposted off the maion Maghera/Desrtmartin Road towards Draperstown, entry is only £5.00 and uner 14’s go free.

Words: Malcom Beattie | Image: 36 Images

MX Vice Editor || 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *