Latest News

Hawkins Regains Championship Lead

Last Sunday round 7 of the Phoenix Tools Premier Motocross Championships took place at Garlands Moor, Nr Holsworthy. As usual every effort by the Premier Mx team had been put in to running this event after the recently dry conditions and water had been put down the day before and early morning on what was originally a dry track and with a hefty shower or two before racing the track was in fine stead and was to produce some really fast racing.

In the Phoenix Tools Expert open class it was the Phoenix Tools Honda of Luke Hawkins who had set the quickest time in qualification who was out to make up a ten point deficit on Championship leader Shane Carless on the Oakleaf Kawasaki. In the opening race it was Jamie Skuse on the Mx-Zone Suzuki who had the best start from Carless and Hawkins, but by the end of the opening lap it was Hawkins at the front with Skuse under huge pressure in 2nd from Alex Snow who was making his return to the Championship after a long injury. Hawkins was in overdrive at the front and was easing away, but it was all happening for 2nd as Snow on the Oakleaf Kawasaki was still trying to get pass Skuse which he eventually did on lap 4. Championship leader Carless was soon to be breathing all over Skuse with the St Blazey Suzuki of John May also in the frame to make it a three way battle which went on right until the last lap when Carless managed to get pass Skuse on a fast right hander, but he wasn’t going to catch Hawkins who took the win by some margin. In the second moto again it was Skuse with the best start, but just as with the first race Hawkins was to hit the front by the end of the opening lap. Both Carless and Snow were to get pass Skuse on lap 2 and were having a real ding dong for a couple of laps until lap 4 when Carless was to stall his bike and through went Snow who was to give his all to try and catch Hawkins, but it was to much to ask. In the last race it was Hawkins from the off in this one, but there were a few fallers out of the first corner which included Snow who was totally last to get away. Hawkins was in a world of his own at the front early on, but as the race progressed Carless was starting to close and by the end of lap 7 after a long hard battle for a couple of laps with May had now come Snow who was absolutely flying. Carless was to close up to within 2 seconds of Hawkins, but in the end he had to settle for 2nd and with Hawkins notching up a hat trick of wins this has now put him back leading the Championship by 3 points with three rounds remaining.

In the Over 35 Championship class there was some really good tussles, but at the end of the day it proved triumphant for Championship leader Mark Wilde on the D W Racing/ S J Hodder Suzuki. Wilde was to win the first two races comfortable, but he had to work hard in the last race as it was Gavin Flagg who was to lead the race from the off from Rick Hanson with Wilde way back, but Wilde was to charge through to pass Hanson mid race then pressurise Flagg in the closing stages and eventually found away pass Flagg on the last lap to take the win by less than half a second to make it a hat trick of wins.

In the over 40 Championship class there was some really good battles between Mark Roberts and Jon Tarr, but there was no stopping Championship leader Steve Locke who once he found his rhythm was to notch up a fine hat trick of wins.

In the over 50 Championship class there was no stopping wildcard Simon Goodfellow in the first two races, but in the last race it was Ian Nott who was to take the win after passing Goodfellow mid race.

In the Tyremarks Junior Championship class it was all about young Josh Gilbert who seemed to relish at this venue and took a convincing hat trick of wins. Championship leader Jay Thomas was to take a tumble on the opening lap of race 1 and was to finish well down, but there was a good result for Ross Churchill and Anthony Milliar who also fell early on, but both came back to take Oliver Claxton on the last lap to finish 3rd and 4th respectively. In the second moto again there was no stopping Gilbert who stormed away. Thomas had a better start in this one and got pass Josh Coker mid race to finish 2nd with Ty Kellett after a long hard battle with Milliar getting the better of him on the last lap to take 3rd. In the last race it was a carbon copy with Gilbert easing away from the start, but there was a good battle for 2nd between Thomas and Kellett which was to go right down to the final lap with Kellett squeezing by Thomas at a lefthander to finish 2nd.

Report and Photo by Dave Rich


Phoenix Tools Expert Open Championship Race 1

1st Luke Hawkins (450f Phoenix Tools Honda) 2nd Alex Snow (450f Oakleaf Kawasaki) 3rd Shane Carless (450f Oakleaf Kawasaki) 4th Jamie Skuse (450f Mx-Zone Suzuki) 5th John May (450f St Blazey Mx Suzuki) 6th James Dodd (450f TwoNineTwo/Burfield Creative/St Blazey Mx Honda)

Race 2

1st Hawkins 2nd Snow 3rd Carless 4th May 5th Skuse 6th Dodd

Race 3

1st Hawkins 2nd Carless 3rd Snow 4th May 5th Dodd 6th Skuse

M D Racing Over 35’s Championship Race 1

1st Mark Wilde (450f S J Hodder/D W Racing Suzuki) 2nd Gavin Flagg (450f J A S Building Contractors Suzuki) 3rd Rick Hanson (450f Hansons Garage Suzuki) 4th Jamie Deadman (450f Compressed Air Systems Honda) 5th Ian Bettison (????) 6th Jason Fraser (450f Fraser Racing Honda) Race 2

1st Wilde 2nd Flagg 3rd R Hanson 4th Fraser 5th Deadman 6th Rob Lewis (350f Tony Maunders Racing KTM)

Race 3

1st Wilde 2nd Flagg 3rd R Hanson 4th Deadman 5th Fraser 6th Bettison

M D Racing Over 40’s Championship Race 1

1st Steve Locke (450f S J Hodder Honda) 2nd Mark Roberts (450f Alan Roberts Garage Honda) 3rd Jon Tarr (????) 4th David Ford (350f Projuice KTM) 5th Laurence Watkins (????) 6th Elliot Waldron (450fKawasaki)

Race 2

1st Locke 2nd M Roberts 3rd D Ford 4th Tarr 5th Wayne Gill (250f Suzuki) 6th Watkins

Race 3

1st Locke 2nd Tarr 3rd M Roberts 4th Gill 5th D Ford 6th Watkins

M D Racing Over 50’s Championship Race 1

1st Simon Goodfellow (????) 2nd Ian Nott (450f S J Hodder/J R Racing Kawasaki) 3rd Tim Hawkins (450f DirtbikeXpress Honda) 4th Steve Chugg (450f Honda) 5th Paul Huggett (250f Define Lines Husq)

Race 2

1st Goodfellow 2nd Nott 3rd Hawkins 4th Chugg 5th Huggett

Race 3

1st Nott 2nd Goodfellow 3rd Hawkins 4th Chugg 5th Huggett

Tyremarks Junior Championship Race 1

1st Josh Gilbert (250f Bikesport Honda) 2nd Josh Taylor (450f Suzuki) 3rd Ross Churchill (250f Top Line Glass KTM) 4th Anthony Milliar (450f A T Motocross Honda) 5th Oliver Claxton (450f Kawasaki) 6th Jonathan Cole (450f Suzuki)

Race 2

1st Gilbert 2nd Jay Thomas (250f K J Services KTM) 3rd Ty Kellett (450f S J Hodder/Rusty PT Kawasaki) 4th Milliar 5th Taylor 6th Churchill

Race 3

1st Gilbert 2nd Kellett 3rd Thomas 4th Milliar 5th Lewis Barfoot (250 Honda) 6th Churchill

Junior B Race 1

1st Sam Richards 2nd Brian Hutchings 3rd Danni Marsh 4th Luke Dewey 5th Stuart Barfoot 6th Alex Groves

Race 2

1st Graham Beale 2nd S Barfoot 3rd Scott Hooper 4th Joel Worthington 5th Michael Green 6th Thomas Parker

Race 3

1st Beale 2nd Dewey 3rd S Barfoot 4th Green 5th Worthington 6th Parker

Junior C Race 1

1st Mark Tillyer 2nd Dan Wood 3rd Julian Slee 4th Adam Seviour 5th Philip Bache 6th Steve Bailey

Race 2

1st Tillyer 2nd Bache 3rd Wood 4th Seviour 5th Marc Hoskin 6th Lewis Reeves

Race 3

1st Tillyer 2nd Wood 3rd Hoskin 4th Slee 5th Mike Goddard 6th Bache


MX Vice Editor || 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *