Latest News


Mad Dog/CCR Racing Suzuki rider Stuart Edmonds stamped his authority once again on the CCM Racing Irish Motocross Championship round 3 held at a superbly prepared Tandragee Motocross Park circuit.
Despite timing problems, the North Armagh Club ran their usual tightly run event, and Dubliner Edmonds ran out the overall winner with two wins from three starts, only Wayne Garrett headed him in race one on the Mullan Motors/Spratt Electrics KTM 350, the Comber man finishing runner up with a second and a third.
Race 2 of the Premier Class was the race of the day, maybe the season so far, with Garrett hounding the Suzuki for the whole race, but the power of the 450 against the 350 told on the long uphill straights, with the 350 catching on the twisty bits, Garrett just couldn’t find a way past the flying Dubliner.
Portavogie ex Champion Robert Hamilton on the Risk racing Europe Yamaha is showing improved form with a fine third overall, but Lisburn’s Richard Bird had a subdued day by his standards finshing a distant fourth on the Five 5 Motorsport KTM.
Fifth was Ryan Adair on the Adair Building Services/Portadown Fireplaces Suzuki, the Dromara lad consistent as ever, and surprising himself was Bangor comeback rider David McCamley on the SmokeVent Yamaha in sixth.
In the concurrently run MX2 Class it was business as usual for Glenn McCormick on his Agnew Recovery/ Watt KTM against Jason Meara on the Motul Oils/Watt Kawasaki with Genoe’s McCormick running out the winner over the Loughbrickland based Meara, but once again, the second race was an epic, with Meara surviving a last lap do or die manoeuvre by McCormick to pick up the win.
Third was young Dubliner Jordan Keogh, who is showing some super form this year on the Kawasaki, fourth was a subdued Jordan Scott on the HTM Husqvarna, still suffering from torn ligaments in his foot, while fifth was Luke Smith from Millisle on his Suzuki, from teenager Dylan Coffey on the KTM.
Semi Expert MX1 had Samuel Donnelly from Dromara take the overall from local man Matthew Sinton on the two stroke Suzuki with Paul Atkinson from Doagh third on the Ulster Shredders KTM, Aaron Ashton from Newtownards was fourth, another local in Jordan Blakely from Moira was fifth on his KTM, with Bangors Craig Darley sixth.
Semi Expert MX2, usually the preserve of James Mackrel saw three new faces on the podium, with Mark Patterson firing his DP Contracts KTM to the overall followed by Lurgan man, & Club sponsored rider Mark Dynes taking second place on the TW Dynes Motorcycles Honda, third was Chris Eccles from Lisburn on his 212 Motorsport Honda.
Darren Grills from Carrick was fourth on his Husqvarna, with Mark Galloway from Ballynahinch a fine fifth overall, with 15 year old Mackrel sixth on the Mullan Motors/Watt KTM 125.
Clubman MX1 also had a new face on top of the podium with Conor McCoy taking the overall on his Yamaha, second was Bob Smyth on the Kawasaki, the Kircubbin man now leading the Championship, third was Bangors Mark Lemon on his Yamaha, Smyth taking two wins, but a poor second race dropped him off the top step.
Clubman MX2 overall was taken by Ryan Calvert from Moneyreagh with near neighbour Stephen Gabbey from Comber second on the Honda and David Morrison third on his Suzuki.
Next round is Limerick in July.
Premier MX1: Stuart Edmonds(Suzuki), 2.Wayne Garrett(KTM), 3. Robert Hamilton (Yamaha), 4.Richard Bird (KTM), 5.Ryan Adair(Suzuki), 6.David McCamley (Yamaha)
Premier MX2: Glenn McCormick (KTM), 2. Jason Meara (Kawasaki), 3. Jordan Keogh(Kawasaki), 4. Jordan Scott(Husqvarna), 5. Luke Smith(Suzuki), 6. Dylan Coffey(KTM)
Semi Expert MX1: 1.Samuel Donnelly (Yamaha), 2.Matthew Sinton(Suzuki),3.Paul Atkinson(KTM), 4. Aaron Ashton (KTM) 5.Jordan Blakely(KTM), 6. Craig Darley(Honda)
Semi Expert MX2: 1. Mark Patterson(KTM), 2. Mark Dynes (Honda), 3. Chris Eccles(Honda), 4. Darren Grills(Husqvarna), 5. Mark Galloway(Kawasaki), 6. James Mackrel(KTM)
Clubman MX1: Conor McCoy(Yamaha), 2. Bob Smyth(Kawasaki), 3. Mark Lemon(Yamaha), 4. Andrew McKibben (KTM), 5. Jordon Wright(KTM), 6. Gerard Scullion (Suzuki)
Clubman MX2: 1. Ryan Calvert(Kawasaki), 2. Stephen Gabbey(Honda), 3. David Morrison(Suzuki)

MX Vice Editor || 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *