Villopoto Extends Monster Energy Supercross Points Lead with Win in Indianapolis

Musquin Wins Second Consecutive 250SX Class Main Event

 INDIANAPOLIS (March 16, 2013) – Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto won his sixth 450SX Class Main Event of the season in front of 60,312 fans at tonight’s Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, at Lucas Oil Stadium. Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin won his second consecutive Eastern Regional 250SX Class Main Event.

Rockstar Energy Racing’s Davi Millsaps won the Nuclear Cowboyz®  Holeshot Award but was passed by Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart. Villopoto moved into third place on the opening lap. Villopoto passed Millsaps on Lap 3 but Millsaps answered back and moved into second place. Three laps later Villopoto moved around Millsaps and held the position. On the same lap, Stewart stalled his bike and Villopoto took over the lead.

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey passed Millsaps for second place on Lap 7. On the final lap of the race, Millsaps crashed after the finish line jump and gave the number-three position to Stewart. Dungey held on for second and Stewart finished third.

Villopoto, who earned the 30th win of his career, became the first rider to win four races in Indianapolis and extended his points lead to nine.

“James [Stewart] was riding great tonight,” said Villopoto. “Lucas Oil Stadium has been great to me; it’s an amazing stadium and I love coming here. Ryan [Dungey] was able to make up some time on me here and there, but I just kept pushing hard until the end.”

Rockstar Energy Racing’s Blake Wharton won the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award and was quickly passed by AG Motorsports’ Kyle Peters to start the Eastern Regional 250SX Class Main Event. GEICO Honda’s Wil Hahn started near the back of the pack and began to play catch up immediately.

After five laps, AJ Catanzero held down the number-five position but was passed by Musquin on Lap 11. Hahn worked his way past Catanzero on Lap 13 for fourth place. On Lap 14 of 15, Wharton crashed, allowing Musquin to take over the lead and Hahn to move into third place. Peters finished a career-best second place and Hahn finished third.

Hahn has a nine-point lead over Musquin in season point standings.

“I gave it away here tonight,” said Hahn. “I have to go home and do my homework to get back on top of the box. I am happy that I was able to work my way back to third, but need to win races.”

“We have been talking about confidence, and tonight I had it,” said Musquin. “I fought really hard, and I believed in myself. Anything can happen out there, and tonight was kind of lucky but I got the win.”

Racing resumes next weekend at Toronto’s Rogers Centre.

450SX Class Results: Indianapolis

  1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
  2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
  3. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki
  4. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki
  5. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda
  6. Chad Reed, Australia, Honda
  7. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM
  8. Matt Goerke, Lake Helen, Fla., KTM
  9. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda
  10. Weston Peick, Wildomar, Calif., Suzuki

 450SX Class Season Standings

1.      Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 227

2.      Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 218

3.      Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 210

4.      Chad Reed, Australia, Honda, 178

5.      Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 168

6.      Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 165

7.      James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 155

8.      Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 136

9.      Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Yamaha, 112

10.   Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 109

Eastern Regional 250SX Class Results: Indianapolis

1.      Marvin Musquin, France, KTM

2.      Kyle Peters, Greensboro, N.C., Honda

3.      Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda

4.      AJ Catanzero, Portland, Conn., Kawasaki

5.      Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki

6.      Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, Mo., Honda

7.      Mitchell Oldenburg, Alvord, Texas, Honda

8.      Gavin Faith, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Honda

9.      Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Suzuki

10.   Peter Larsen, Menifee, Calif., Honda

Eastern Regional 250SX Class Season Standings

1.      Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda, 112

2.      Marvin Musquin, France, KTM, 103

3.      Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Suzuki, 88

4.      Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki, 87

5.      Kyle Peters, Greensboro, NC, Honda, 67

6.      Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki, 67

7.      Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, Mo., Honda, 65

8.      Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 53

9.      Gavin Faith, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Honda, 53

10.   James Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda, 52

KTM Junior Supercross Challenge

1.      Jordan Biese, Appleton, Wis., KTM

2.      Liam Everts, Limberg Belgium, KTM

3.      Jacob Hull, Mentor, Ohio, KTM

4.      Connor Duvall, Union, Ken., KTM

5.      Branden Morgenstern, Whipple, Ohio, KTM

6.      Blaceton Moore, Glouster, Ohio, KTM

7.      Colson Crouch, Morton, Ill., KTM

8.      Talan Zollers, North Aurora, Ill., KTM

9.      Stephan Munnier, Victor, N.Y., KTM

10.   Griffin Kinney, Duluth, Minn., KTM

11.   Andrew Kali, Hubbard, Ohio, KTM

12.   Kasen Denault, Buckingham, Ill., KTM

13.   Ethan Delgrosso, Waterford, Conn., KTM

14.   Austin Mcafee, West Palm Beach, Fla., KTM

15.   Maylei Leaneagh, Fredrick, Colo., KTM

MX Vice Editor || 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *