South Somerset MX – Yarley

After the first round of the South Somerset MX Championships were cancelled due to the bad weather, round 2 at Yarley was welcomed by glorious sunshine, that combined with astrong cold wind dried the track to near perfect conditions even showing an element of dust in the final block of racing.
The track ran the opposite way to normal due to the start and the big hill still being waterlogged making it difficult for some of the younger groups but the track still made for some exciting racing through the different groups.

The Autos were hotly-contested between Edward Hoddinott and Bradley Way, who both had a win and a second in there first two outings. 
With all to play for in the last moto Hoddinott took the win from Way, while Toby English rode three solid races for third overall.
The Junior 65 class was dominated by James Rowe who took all three wins while Louie Kesser took second with a (2-2-3) and Jason Down third with (3-4-2)

The small wheel class saw another dominant display with Jack Booker winning all three races. Ryan Tanner and Deon Thomas were left to battle it out for the runners up position With Ryan coming out on top and leaving Deon to take third overall.

The big wheel class saw some exciting racing in a hotly-contested class with Harry Pritchard, Billy King and Corey Hockey who were all absolutely flying.
In race one Billy King was well on the pace but a couple of costly mistakes left him down in fourth place while Harry went on to win from Corey. Race two and another mistake from Billy but this time he gathered himself up got into his stride and went on to win the next two races leaving Harry the runners up position and Corey in third.

Rookies class were dominated by the four strokes with Adam Dyer taking the win with a (3-1-1) finish, second went to Luke Williams and third was Jack Roberts. The two strokes who ran with the bigger four strokes was dominated with three wins by Joe Clayton on a Husqvarna, runner up was George Poole with a trio of second places leaving George Welch to take third.

A full line up for MX2 provided some of the best racing of the day.
Olly Jones certainly had his gating head on but could not stand the attack from Jay Thomas who overhauled Olly to win the first two races.
Race three again saw Olly out in front on the first lap while Jay was near the back of the field but charging hard. Jay was making places fast and with two laps to go was up to third. By the time they came round for the last lap flag Jay was second and had his sight set on Olly who he could see a few corners ahead. As they came to the top of the hill Jay was on Olly’s back wheel but Olly put in a last burst effort to hold Jay off and take the win. Josh James secured third overall with consistent top five placings.

It was a small line up for the MX1 class with only ten riders taking there place on the line but it was soon apparent that this was going to be a fiercely contested class.
Darren Banwell took the honours in race one from Ryan Allen and Brad Cavill. 
Race two saw Cavill out front and led for most of the race with Ryan Allen stalking his every move, with one to go Allen made his move and took the lead and take the chequered flag leaving Cavill second and Banwell third.
With all to play for in the last race Allen moved to the front ahead of early race leader Scott Arden. Allen pushing to make a gap on the others makes a mistake over the finish line jump at around quarter distance which leaves him dazed and out of the race. Cavill goes on to take the win from Ryan Redwood and Scott Arden. That was enough to give Cavill the overall from Darren Banwell and Ryan Redwood.

The next round is 17/03/13 at Garlands Moor and is also a Grand Slam qualifier and club championship.
 Report & Pictures by Haggis Hartman

MX Vice Editor || 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *