Yamaha have made a handful of announcements over the last couple of days and another one filtered through earlier on. The squad that was commonly referred to as M. Smith Electrical KTM will switch to the blue bikes for the new year and run three riders. Josh Spinks will lead the team into action once again.

I am excited to inform you all of the bike switch for 2019,” Josh Spinks wrote on his social media. “A massive thank you goes out to Yamaha Motor for the opportunity! The MSR team is still run and owned by the main man, Matt Smith, I can’t thank him enough for the continued support. [I will be doing] MX2 in the Maxxis British Championship and MX1 in the MX Nationals Championship. We are also hoping to wildcard a few MX1 World Championship GPs throughout the season, which is a dream of mine. Exciting times and a lot of hard work ahead to further improve from this season. Let’s be having you!”

Eythor Reynisson will join Josh Spinks in the MX2 class on the team, which will now be referred to as MSR Redline Yamaha, then Luke Smith will race in the MX1 class. It is thought that Spinks will be the only rider who dabbles in international competition.

Words: Lewis Phillips | Lead Image: MPS Images

MX Vice Editor || 25