McCammond makes winning start to U23 Ulster Championship

The Ulster Championship Motocross season got off to a cold, wet and hesitant start at Desertmartin last Saturday, although the day did not cool the racing down.

 The day got off to a slow start due to timing equipment issues, and the first block of races were manually lap scored, but the Cookstown Club coped with the problems and a full set of Championship races were


The Under 23 Championship was oversubscribed, a vindication of the MRA’s decision to raise the age limit, however, this created its own problems with some riders raising concern about the speed differential between the fastest Premier riders and the slower Clubman riders, perhaps something for the MRA to look at for future rounds.

However, the racing was superb, with Drew Goudy and Michael McCammond fighting it out for the overall in all three races, with Larnes McCammond beating Carricks Goudy for the overall on their 450 Hondas.

Behind them the racing was no less intense, with Jason Meara coming from 19th to third in the last race, this shows the Loughbrickland youngsters sheer speed, but not to be discounted was Meghaberry’s Darren Badfords speed at the start of the races, and also riders like Ballymenas Steven McCaughey, Ballycastles Charles Stuart, Combers Jason Garrett, and Moiras Scott Hamilton, this looks like being on a par with last years U21 Championship, exciting racing all round.

Luke Smith is the Semi Expert winner with Stuart Fee second, and Ryan Glover, back from an eye injury third, Clubmans went to J.Lindsay, Chris Simms and Kyle Darley.

In the Premier Quad Class, watched by the ex Champion David Wray, now wheelchair bound, but still an enthusiast, the riders laid on an impressive show, providing three winners in three races, Michael McAneny from Limavady, Justin Reid from Comber and David Cowan from Lisburn, these three providing the poidium for all three races, notable mentions must go to Emma McQuaid for leading a race for a long time, and Aaron Spence also leading, but Dean Colhoun was the most impressive finisher, the young Saintfield lad finishing in the top six all day.

Clubman Quads provided a treble winner in Mark Donnelly, Chris Nelson, Phil Harris, and Andrew Downey sorting out the lower placings, special mention must go to David Forsythe who was on course for his first adult win when he was caught out by a nasty bump at the famous Mobil 1 jump and ended with concussion.

Veterans Class produced a respectable gate of 24 riders, with Class youngster Stephen Kelly on his KTM from Ballynahinch won one race with Southern Visitor Mark Mooney one and Ravarnets  Ricky Watt one, defending Champion Waringstowns Jonathan Fairley is still suffering the after effects of a practice crash which left him with three broken ribs and 6 weeks off the bike, but its a long season.

Paul McMinn ran out winner of the Semi Expert Class followed, and Freddie Kinnersly won the Clubmans Class, followed by Ian Moore and Denver Robb.

In the Sidecarcross Championship, there was a major upset as youngsters Gary Moulds and Ben Fitzpatrick beat defending Champions, and Lisburn neighbours Neil Campbell & Ross Graham in two races to lead the Championship.  This is Neil & Ross’ first Championship defeat in three years, third was taken by Ricky Portis & Roy Beattie, also from Lisburn.

A great days racing with no serious incidents, maybe a late finish but the Club coped well with the conditions.

Malcolm Beattie

MRA Press Officer

Pic: Jonathan McCready

MX Vice Editor || 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *