Desalle And Suzuki Win At Valence

Team Suzuki Press Office – February 17.

Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Clement Desalle raced the new 2013 World MX1 factory RM-Z450 Suzuki to victory at today’s Valence International Motocross in France – the final pre-season event before the World Motocross Championship season gets underway at Qatar next month.

Desalle took second and third places in the first two MX1 heat races as new team mate Kevin Strijbos notched-up two fifth-placed results. But the 23-year-old Belgian clinched the overall victory with second place in the Super-Final when first and second-race winner Gaultier Paulin dropped-out of the race.

Clement Desalle:

“I’m satisfied with the race: In the first heat I didn’t really find a good momentum, but in the second and third heat I felt comfortable on the bike. I rode my own race and wanted to keep it safe with the crash from Mantova still in mind. My starts were not good this weekend, so this is something I will need to work on before Qatar.”

Kevin Strijbos:

“Overall I’m happy with the speed and feeling I had on the bike. It’s never been one of my favourite tracks and I rode a safe race this weekend, so I’m satisfied with fifth overall. It was good preparation for what’s coming in two weeks’ time.”

Valence International MX Results:

Heat 1: 1. Gaultier Paulin (Kawasaki), 2. Clement Desalle (Rockstar Energy Suzuki) +0.07.783, 3. Cedric Soubeyras (Honda) +0.08.543, 4. Xavier Boog (KTM) +0.11.563, 5. Kevin Strijbos (Rockstar Energy Suzuki) +0.13.044.

Heat 2: 1. Gaultier Paulin (Kawasaki), 2. Cedric Soubeyras (Honda) +0.05.968, 3. Clement Desalle (Rockstar Energy Suzuki) +0.06.306, 4. Xavier Boog (KTM) +0.09.858, 5. Kevin Strijbos (Rockstar Energy Suzuki) +0.12.576.

Superfinals: 1. Xavier Boog (KTM), 2. Clement Desalle (Rockstar Energy Suzuki) +0.02.923, 3. Tanel Leok (Honda) +0.04.068, 4. Valentin Teillet (Kawasaki) +0.34.302, 5. Kevin Strijbos (Rockstar Energy Suzuki +0.39.726.

Overall results: 1. Clement Desalle (Rockstar Energy Suzuki) 64pts., 2. Xavier Boog (KTM) 61pts., 3. Tanel Leok (Honda) 50 pts., 4. Gauthier Paulin (Kawasaki) 50pts., 5. Kevin Strijbos (Rockstar Energy Suzuki) 48 pts.

MX Vice Editor || 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *