Cairoli and Herlings unbeaten in Holland

VALKENSWAARD (The Netherlands), 1 April 2013 – The sun came up today in Valkenswaard to host the main races of the Grand Prix of the Netherlands, which made the track being more demanding for the MXGP riders. The great crowd present at Valkenswaard enjoyed fantastic racing in both MX1 and MX2 classes and they saw Antonio Cairoli and Jeffrey Herlings adding one more Grand Prix victory in his records.

This weekend it was the first time that the SkyBox was used in the FIM Motocross World Championship and it was a big success, as watching the start from the second floor was a unique experience for the fans and the presentation of the MXGP riders before the start provided another impressive element of the show.

The second race of the first round of the FIM WMX World Championship took place today and Natalie Kane, Megan Rutledge and Chiara Fontanesi starred in an intense battle from the beginning until the end of the heat. In the end it was Fontanesi who took the win, as well as the overall victory ahead of Rutledge and Kane.

Valkenswaard also hosted today the two main races of the first round of the FIM MX3 World Championship, where Gert Krestinov obtained the overall win with a 2-1 result. Second overall was Mike Kras and Filip Neugebauer completed the top three.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli was really happy for being once again on the podium even if he could not win both heats. In the first race the Italian managed to take the lead from Bobryshev already in the opening lap, but by the middle of the heat he was surprised by his teammate Ken De Dycker who led a couple of laps until the made a mistake. The Italian recuperated the lead and crossed the finish line with almost three seconds difference with the second classified. In the second race Cairoli admitted that had some pain in his arms in the beginning of the heat which made him make many mistakes, so he decided to slow down in order to stay in two wheels. After a few laps the Italian got back the good rhythm, but De Dycker had already opened a big gap, so he finished second and won the MXGP of the Netherlands for the fourth time in a row.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Ken De Dycker ended on the second step of the podium after finishing second and first in today’s races, but he might have won the Grand Prix if he hadn’t crash in the first heat when he was leading it. The Belgian admitted that he was very satisfied with his riding and with his second overall position, as it had been a long time since he was on the podium and racing at the front. De Dycker moved from fourth to third in the MX1 point standings.

Honda World Motocross’ Evgeny Bobryshev succeeded in being on the third step of the podium this weekend after finishing second and fourth in today’s races. The Russian took the holeshot in both heats and he won the Get Athena Award, which is given to the rider that takes the holeshot in the first heat. Bobryshev admitted that he was really happy with his riding this weekend, even if he had a small crash in the end of the second heat.

The fourth overall position went for Rockstar Energy Suzuki World’s Kevin Strijbos. The Belgian rider had quite a good start and he rode sixth during the first six laps, but Paulin overtook him and Strijbos was not able to passed him back and crossed the finish line seventh. However, the Belgian had an excellent start in the second heat and he rode second until Cairoli made the pass on him by the middle of the heat. Strijbos was very satisfied with his third position in the second heat, as well as with the overall fourth position in the Grand Prix.

Honda World Motocross’ Max Nagl was touched by bad luck yesterday in the qualifying heat, but he did two excellent races today and he finished fifth overall. The German ended sixth in both motos and he recuperated the confidence he was missing after being so unfortunate in the previous two grand prix.

Gautier Paulin had a good start in the first race and he finished fifth, but in the second moto his start was not that good and he struggled to get a good rhythm to overtake the riders that were riding in front of him. In the end Paulin finished seventh and obtained the overall sixth position.

Clement Desalle did not find himself comfortable on his bike today and he ended only seventh overall, followed by Tanel Leok and Tommy Searle. Rui Gonçalves completed the top ten.

David Philippaerts had a really good start in the second moto, but a mechanical problem pushed him to pull out from the race. The Italian ended thirteenth in the Grand Prix.

Jeremy Van Horebeek finished eleventh in the first heat, but he stopped in the pitlane in the second moto as he noticed that there was a problem with his bike and he did not want to take any risks.

Monster Energy Yamaha’s Steven Frossard did not take part in the races today, as he had to get an operation done on one of his toe this morning, as yesterday he broke the toe that he had fractured last week while training.

MX1 Race 1 top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:45.837; 2. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:02.473; 3. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:09.193; 4. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), +0:26.611; 5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:30.675; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Honda), +0:35.943; 7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:49.340; 8. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +1:13.591; 9. David Philippaerts (ITA, Honda), +1:16.523; 10. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +1:16.668;

MX1 Race 2 top ten: 1. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 39:22.098; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:01.521; 3. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:14.800; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:37.145; 5. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:44.981; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Honda), +0:52.555; 7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:00.383; 8. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), +1:02.518; 9. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +1:02.629; 10. Joel Roelants (BEL, Yamaha), +1:06.622;

MX1 Overall top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 47 points; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 45 p.; 3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 40 p.; 4. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 34 p.; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Honda), 30 p.; 6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 30 p.; 7. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 29 p.; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), 28 p.; 9. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), 23 p.; 10. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 21 p.;

MX1 Championship top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 142 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 116 p.; 3. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 115 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 108 p.; 5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 89 p.; 6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 87 p.; 7. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), 87 p.; 8. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 73 p.; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), 61 p.; 10. Joel Roelants (BEL, Yamaha), 58 p.;


MX Vice Editor || 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *