Latest News

British Masters ready for a Whitby weekend

Following the fun of Foxhills, its time to hit the road for the long journey North,destination the spectacular Skelder Bank circuit at Whitby and round three of the super AMCA Wulfsport British Masters. After two great meetings already completed, Battery Energy Pro MX1 leader Kristian Whatley still boasts a remarkable unbeaten record and could be gunning to make it a glorious hat-trick in Yorkshire!!.

However the Masters Round three clashes with the rearranged RBPN opener at Landrake, so at the time of going to press its uncertain which event Whatley and Battery Energy Pro MX2 leader Neville Bradshaw will be competing in. Should they decide to stay down South, then a new name will be topping the podium on this occasion and potentially taking home a £1,000 winners cheque!! So at Whitby watch out for the likes of 2010 Masters double Champion Scott Elderfield, Matt Burrows and Ashley Greedy whilst Clinton Barrs looks likely to be the sole AMCA representive.

Already this season,the new Putoline backed Two-Stroke Masters as produced some great racing, with a superb full entry list at Foxhills. Currently topping the Two-Smokers in the MX1 contest is Matthew Moffat who bagged a very impressive maximum points score during round two and at present heads Daniel Brough, Joe Jones, Matthew Williamson and James Lassu. Over in MX2, young star Sam Winterburn leads the charge from Alex Davies, Cory Joe Nemeth and Rob Holyoake although it was Wiltshire based James Dunn who took top honours at Foxhills.

In GSP Race-Products MXY2,Meredith Suzuki rider Dan Thornhill is at present on track to bag a memorable MXY2 Masters title hat-trick. After two typically competitive rounds, Dan holds a 38 point advantage over Jay Thomas with Scott Alldridge, Rickie Roderick, Robert Hales, Neil Roe and Dima Fircks all in striking distance. Thornhill though could be another absentee due to RBPN business so come 6.00pm on Sunday evening we could be witnessing a new  class leader in the 2012 MXY2 class!!

In the eight races completed so far, Moto-Pro Suspension BW85cc pace-setter Jordan Moxey has suffered just one defeat. That one reverse coming in the opening moto at Foxhills when he finished 3rd behind Charlie Putman and Tyron Cleaver. Indeed  at present Cleaver is proving to be Moxey’s closest challenger with Oliver Benton, Luke Craig, Putman and Eddie Remmer also right in contention. Over in SW85cc, defending Champion Henry Siddiqui has made a very strong start to his title defence by earning the overall wins at both Mallory and Foxhills. Chasing hard though is Howard Wainwright, Matt Brame, Dion Lewis, Zak Watkins and Nathan Harlow. After missing round one, Taylor Hamill and Harry Kimber were both on the Foxhills podium and could dramatically improve their Championship hopes if they are competing again at Whitby.

What an interesting contest the Scott Acerbis Amateur MX1 class is proving to be! Already Darryl Maxwell(2), Glenn Fletcher(2), Lewis King(2), Dexter Marks(1) and Jamie Dobson(1) have scorched to moto wins. In the title race, its Maxwell leading the way,17 points ahead of Luke Meredith, Matthew Thomas, Marks, Dobson and Ricky Lethaby. Likewise, Zook Clothing Amateur MX2 as also produced four different race victors so far in Jack Cox, Aled Bellis, Ryan Crowder and Charles Statt. At present all of the riders are right in the mix for Championship honours with Cox holding the current advantage from Bellis. Also in the current top six are Edward Briscoe(3rd) and Jack Forrest(4th).

With eight motos completed, Jake Alsop currently tops the Michelin MX1 class having suffered just one defeat along the way. Jake’s single reverse came in the very first race of the season at Mallory as he chased home Shaun Scrivens, William Orritt, Samuel Kirby and Sam Chapman. After the opening two rounds, both Kirby and Orritt have proved to be serious challengers with Jamie Wilson, Ashley Dabell and Tom Davis also holding down impressive top six Championship positions.

The closest AMCA Wulfsport British Masters contest at present is without doubt the Michelin MX2 class.After two rounds,Adam Wells and Emerson Jones are level at the top of the standings. Indeed in the eight races so far, Wells and Jones have proved their dominance by filling the top two moto finishing positions on each occasion. At present in Michelin MX2, Aidan Wigger holds 3rd in the standings ahead of Adam Constable, James Milne and Mitch Brooks.

So,with additional prizes supplied by Muk-Junkie it’s time for the Whitby action to commence. Enjoy your weekend and don’t forget to get your entries in by 19th May for Round 4 at Hawkstone Park!

MX Vice Editor || 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *