Latest News

A vibrant crowd see Cairoli and Herlings win in France

The eighth Grand Prix of France took place today at Ernée where Antonio Cairoli and Jeffrey Herlings obtained another overall victory and they increased their lead in the championship standings. The French riders made the crowd go crazy at every single race and there actually up to three home riders on the podium, Gautier Paulin was second in MX1, whereas Dylan Ferrandis and Christophe Charlier were second and third in MX2.

The first MX2 race was red flagged after the start, as there was a malfunction of the starting gate, but the rest of the races were run without incident.

Ernée also hosted the second round of the EMX250 European Championship and Valentin Guillod obtained another strong victory, while Jeremy Seewer and Ceriel Klein Kromhof were second and third respectively.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli obtained his 59th Grand Prix victory in Ernée after finishing second and first in today’s races. In the first race the Italian obtained the Get Athena holeshot Award, but half way through the race Cairoli made a mistake while trying to change his line and Gautier Paulin overtook him. The KTM rider did not give up and he tried to pass the French back until the very last lap, but in the end Cairoli had to settle down with the second position. In the second race the current red plate holder took another holeshot and this time nothing stopped the Italian to lead the race until the chequered flag.

The second overall position was for Kawasaki Racing Team’s Gautier Paulin who was not able to finish on the top of the podium, but he was very pleased to win the first race in front of his home crowd who cheered for him during the whole weekend. In the second race the home rider had a really good start but in the first corner there was a crash and he was taken out to the outside. Paulin was down in sixth and he could cross the finish line fourth to be on the second step of the podium.

Rockstar Energy Suzuki World’s Clement Desalle was very satisfied for his third overall position today, especially because he struggled a lot yesterday during the qualifying race. The Belgian admitted that they made some small modifications on his bike, which helped him to feel more comfortable during today’s races. In both heats Desalle had a good start, and whereas he rode a consistent first moto in the third position after he had overtaken Van Horebeek, in the second one he passed Boog after the first three laps and he rode second until the chequered flag.

CLS Kawasaki Monster Energy Pro Circuit’s Tommy Searle had one of his best performances of the season today after finishing fourth overall. The British rider started down in twelfth in the first race, but he managed to finish seventh in front of Nagl with whom he had a thrilling battle during most of the race. In the second heat Searle had a much better start and he ended third, which gave him the fourth overall position, his best ever result in the MX1 class so far.

Kawasaki Racing Team’s Jeremy Van Horebeek also obtained his best result of the season today in Ernée; the Belgian rider felt really well already yesterday and today he proved that he is now ready to be among the top five positions at every Grand Prix. In the first race he was second after the start, but Paulin and Desalle were faster, so Van Horebeek decided to ride safe in the fourth place. After three laps De Dycker caught Van Horebeek and he overtook him, but with two laps to go, Van Horebeek passed him back and finished fourth. In the second race Van Horebeek was involved in a crash in the first corner and he was only able to finish sixth. However, the Belgian was really satisfied with his fifth overall position.

Ken De Dycker was back riding among the top five positions today, but he was only able to finish sixth overall. In the first heat he rode fourth most of the race, but he lost one position with Van Horebeek with two laps to go and he ended fifth. In the second moto the KTM rider was able to move up to third in the first stages of the race, but he crossed the finish line fifth again.

Kevin Strijbos finished seventh overall, ahead of Davide Guarneri and Xavier Boog. Evgeny Bobryshev completed the top ten.

MX1 Race 1 top ten: 1. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 39:21.019; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:01.453; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:23.523; 4. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:43.389; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:49.635; 6. David Philippaerts (ITA, Honda), +0:50.808; 7. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:53.198; 8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Honda), +0:55.094; 9. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), +1:10.101; 10. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), +1:12.061;

MX1 Race 2 top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:28.802; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:10.539; 3. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:11.974; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:21.491; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:26.433; 6. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:32.766; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, KTM), +0:44.837; 8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:53.614; 9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +1:03.414; 10. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), +1:21.781;

MX1 Overall top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 47 points; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 43 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 42 p.; 4. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), 34 p.; 5. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), 33 p.; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 32 p.; 7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 23 p.; 8. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), 23 p.; 9. Xavier Boog (FRA, KTM), 21 p.; 10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 21 p.;

MX1 Championship top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 377 points; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 321 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 309 p.; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 277 p.; 5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 243 p.; 6. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), 239 p.; 7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Honda), 190 p.; 8. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), 171 p.; 9. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 168 p.; 10. David Philippaerts (ITA, Honda), 145 p.;

MX1 Manufacturers: 1. KTM, 382 points; 2. Kawasaki, 323 p.; 3. Suzuki, 321 p.; 4. Honda, 252 p.; 5. Yamaha, 133 p.; 6. TM, 120 p.;


MX Vice Editor || 25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *