AMCA Preview: Nympsfield

Look forward to Nympsfield.

Look forward to Nympsfield.

It’s certainly a very busy month for the riders competing in the AMCA British Motocross Championship, powered by Datatag and supported by Dunlop. Just one week after battling it out in a tough opening round, they have to dust themselves down and find the energy to go again this Sunday.

The venue for round two is the hillside circuit of Nympsfield in Gloucestershire, with the hard-working Dursley MXC as the hosts. Despite feeling unwell, defending champion Luke Burton (FUS Husqvarna) has started the new campaign in fantastic form and took maximum points at the opener. The quality of the challengers will certainly again test him to the limit though. Shane Carless and James Dodd joined Burton on the podium at round one and you can surely expect them to be right in the frame again.

Gary Gibson, Richard Cannings, John May, Ryan Crowder and Luke Meredith, all of whom made strong starts to their respective title quests, are right in the mix too. During round one, Paul Neale made his MX1 debut and being a track expert at Nympsfield could well be a serious contender this weekend.

At round one the MX2 title chasers produced some stunning action and they are sure to thrill again at the spectacular Nympsfield track. After the opener, Ray Rowson holds a five-point advantage over defending champion Josh Waterman. The very fast trio of Jansen Day, Luke Dean and Lewis King are looking to move up the early  title standings though! This class throws up a whole list of potential moto winners with high-flying pilots such as James Wainwright, Jack Cox, Clinton Barrs, Jack Gardner, Luke Mellows and Bradley Tranter all more than capable of getting on the podium. This class is going to be well-worth watching!

After badly breaking his wrist last June, Brad Turner decided to leave the MX1 class and move over to the 2T contest for 2017. On the evidence of his round one performance, he’s certainly going to be a very difficult rider to beat on his KTM two-smoker after blasting to three untroubled wins. Jason Kendrick, Bradley Doyle, Tony Griffiths, Jordan Saunders, Ashley Beniston, Shaun Buchan and Sean Eckersley fill the next eight places in the early championship table. Surprisingly, last year's runner-up James Lane could only manage tenth overall at round one. He'll be in a determined mood come Easter Sunday, but also look out for young Rory Jones on his KTM.

The top three of Simon Lane, Terry House and James Russell all finished on a total of 164 points in a great Vets contest at round one. so expect battle to rage again at Nympsfield. Other early contenders could be Martin Atherton, Stephen Elford, Gary Jones, Richard Chinn, Darren Bennett and Brian Staples, Richard Vincent, Sean Smith and Stephen Marlow.

The track can be found on the unclassified road that links Forest Green and Nympsfield village with a postcode of GL10 3UJ. Admission charges for the event are £7, but £2 for OAPs and children under 12.

Words: Press Release | Lead Image: Mike Wood

Best Of