Race Report: Blaxhall

A Blaxhall recap.

A Blaxhall recap.

Sunday 2nd April saw the Woodbridge and DMCC host their first motocross meeting of the season at the Blaxhall circuit in Suffolk with the event being supported by local commercial vehicle dealer Orwell Truck and Van. The demanding sand circuit was in great condition, as nearly one hundred and sixty riders competed in the sunshine and bright blue skies. The day started with practice and qualifying sessions to determine the groups for later in the day.

In the A group the Expert and top Junior riders competed together in three exciting races. The opening race would see top national youth rider Tom Grimshaw take the early race lead and battle with the current BYN champion George Grigg-Pettitt, until Grigg-Pettitt crashed. Meanwhile former centre champion Luke Benstead was pushing hard to close down Grimshaw, take the lead and the win with Steve Bixby in third. Brendon Mayers and Jason Morland rounded out the top five, while Ryan Davin came home in sixth as the top Junior.

The second A group race would see a repeat of the opening race. Grimshaw fired out of the gate in the lead and had pressure from Benstead early on, until the race one winner suffered a problem and had to retire from the race. With Benstead out, Grimshaw took the race win by over twelve seconds from Steve Bixby and Brendon Mayers in third. Fourth and fifth places went to the George Grigg-Pettitt and Jason Morland with Ryan Davin once again the top Junior in seventh place.

The third and final A group race saw Steve Bixby make the start but, unfortunately, due to an injured rider the race was stopped and rerun. In the rerun Bixby again made the start, but was unable to stop Luke Benstead from taking the victory ahead of Grimshaw in second. That was enough to give the youngster the overall victory. Bixby finished in third; Grigg-Pettitt and Morland rounded out the top five. This time is was Rheis Morter who was the top Junior in seventh place.

In the B group it was John Gill, Thomas White and William Nice who all shared the race wins with John Gill taking the overall win after finishing 1-2-5 in the three races. Thomas White’s 5-1-3 scorecard was enough to secure him second overall with William Nice going 3-6-1 for third overall.

In the C group it was John Bavin who took all three race wins to secure the overall ahead of Thomas Pearmain, who recovered from a fifth in the first race to take two second places for second overall with Michael Kester having a solid day for third overall.

Sunday’s meeting also featured the opening round of the NGR championship and it was to be a tough day for reigning champion Tim Clark, who suffered with problems in the second and third races. With Clark suffering bad luck, it meant that Liam Walker was able to take the overall victory with three race wins ahead of Adam Gordon who took three second places and Aaron Hopkins in third overall. Fourth and fifth overall went to Paul Hubbard and Jake Morphey.

Words: Press Release | Lead Image: Dean Warner

Best Of